#MailArt aficionados

Ok Twitter #MailArt aficionados,

Here is the deal:
===================
This project is to be serious fun, requiring your commitment and dedication to people and respect for relationships. From that the Art will follow.

As for the Art then, you are responsible for your own artwork on your own terms. So the content will be open ended. There will no theme this time around, unless you make a personal theme develop. You can share ideas in the blog comments below.

We have experienced artists on the list, and some novices trying their hand. Its an experiment and we should see where we can take it. I see it as coming from the equalizing joy that twitter interaction brings us.

In theory, I would like the project to turn into an online gallery, and secondly, if possible and all consenting, a show in multiple locations/cities/venues at the same time. If thats too daunting forget that part, but keep it in the back of your mind. The point is fun and sharing some of your freehand / collage / watercolour / digital / photography / you-name-it work.

Keep in mind that mailing addresses would never be shown in a public viewing, but you can run your work onto the back as well as the front of the card if you like. Also writing a personal note, at least one line, should be a nice gesture. Even if only, “Hey, how you doing? – Mark @Art_News” Sign your name in whatever fashion you like, remember that it is important to know who it comes from. Please include your your twitter name as indicated.

Keep in mind that half the fun is seeing the postal marks, florescent tags and just how it gets “damaged” from the postal process. Don’t make the work so precious that you will be broken-hearted if the card gets dog-eared.

The guidelines are as follows:
==============================

1) Standard postcard sizes. It will likely be the only uniform element between all of us and would aids in mounting a show or an online gallery:
4-1/8 x 5-3/4 on some kind of more a less rigid 2-D material

2) Use real postage stamps. Not a metered stamp, unless your going insist that its a HUGE conceptual part of your work, then ok. But hey, there is a nostalgic component here with getting an “object” in the mail and stamps are pretty nostalgic these days, yet still widely available. Suggestions on this are welcome. Snail-mail rocks! Half of us were probably stamp collecting geeks as kids anyway. My #ArtConfess post would be that I was a member of the “Burlington Junior Stamp Club” that met every Saturday morning as a kid. Its in part how I fell in love with printmaking.

3) Now here is the commitment line: One postcard to all 30 people. That way you all get your own set.

In theory each person could in turn, “curate” his/her own mini-show in a venue somewhere.. or not. We can discuss this online in the comments boxes at the end of this blog post. The big thing is, each person has to pull their weight. No favoritism. Send the cards as you can do them on the list. I think 30 days should be a reasonable deadline, and we will try our best to get things in the mailbox by the July 1st deadline, right? For me personally, I am going send one a day for 30 days, and there will be a narrative puzzle to work out.

Back to the deadline issue. I know what procrastinators we twittering artist are. You probably don’t even have time for this project, but your going to do it anyway, so a later date is a bad idea. Why? Because you likely love the pressure and the adrenlin buzz. So I will be a demagogue on this one issue. The deadline is July 1st!! ok..?

Time management. Keep it a simple process. Think of how fantastic you will feel getting all this wondeful Art mail AND having others receive yours! I’m very jazzed.

53 Comments on “#MailArt aficionados”

  1. […] #MailArt aficionados « Mark Philip Venema: a line is naked thought markphilipvenema.wordpress.com/2009/05/28/69 – view page – cached #Mark Philip Venema: a line is naked thought RSS Feed Mark Philip Venema: a line is naked thought » #MailArt aficionados Comments Feed Mark Philip Venema: a line is naked thought Casual first post Learning From… Los Angeles the virtual venetian — From the page […]

  2. Don’t sweat it too much Mandi. (Just a little, but do get some sleep!) Ask me about the circumstances of life pressing in on you. I will be late a day or two myself.

    Also we all need to keep in mind that international mail takes much longer. Canada is much bigger geographically than the USA with only 30 million people instead of 300 million, so its understandable that the postal system works differently here and takes longer.

    My guess is that you will still be receiving mail until mid-July. I have had mail from Gabon take 3 months, so who knows what surprises we may find. I wish I had time to comment better on all the wonderful work. Thanks for hanging in there everyone.

    Don’t forget to take a look at the work posted on the flickr.com group here: http://bit.ly/DsyiS

  3. Mandi says:

    Hello mailart-ers…
    As some of you may know or have realized, I have gone completely twitter-MIA for the past couple of weeks and thought I should let you know what the deal was. Basically, I moved to Chicago 2 weeks ago, and my life has gone kind of insane between moving and starting this incredibly intensive summer design program. Then, I have been sick since I arrived and am still recovering, but playing catch up on work in the program.

    In lieu of that, the mailart project is taking much longer than I thought it would, and I am SO SORRY but it looks like it won’t be done until after this weekend when I really have some time to sit down over the holiday and finish up. The quality level will be much better, and I hope that everyone is pleased with the results. It is a lot of experimentation, but it has been fun and great to keep making art while all these other things are going on in my life. I am going to mail them out as a batch, and again, I am terribly sorry that I wasn’t able to make the deadline!! All of your beautiful work is much appreciated, so I hope that no one views my tardiness as disrespect because it is anything but. I hope that this has been as fun and exciting for everyone else as it has been for me, and that you all enjoy the work when it finally arrives 🙂
    xoxo
    -Celci

  4. HARDPRESSED says:

    Interesting. I was accused by a participant of using the word unprofessional. Not so. My tweet read that I was glad to find out that the wrong #mailart was mistakenly sent (by an assistant) because it didn’t look like something a PROFESSIONAL would do.

  5. Lizo18 says:

    I have contacted a local library that has an excellent gallery to see if they would be interested in displaying our Mail Art. This is on Long Island, in NY (near NYC). Will keep you posted.

  6. Hey Melody – I’m feeling the pressure too! I’ll get them done, but I was wondering the other day if the work would be better if I had more time. I certainly don’t want to later think that I threw something together to meet the deadline. 33 pieces sounds to me like a 6-month project. Just because they’re small doesn’t lessen their importance.

    On the other hand, whenever we commit to a date, say for exhibitions, there are no extensions! You do what you have to do to get it done.

  7. Museum Nerd says:

    Looking back closely at the rules, I realize I’ve strayed a bit from the size restriction, but all are still within the USPS regulation limit on postcard sizes. Unless we’d hoped for some sort of minimalist tessellation installation, I think it’ll be okay.

  8. HARDPRESSED says:

    I understand the reasoning behind the 30 day deadline (the dreaded procrastination) BUT I would be enjoying this project so much more if we had 2 months to complete the 33 cards. Right now it is weighing heavily on me as I try to maintain a pace to meet July 1st AND also stay on top of other everyday responsibilities and obligations. Especially since June is one of the busier months with graduations, showers, weddings, trips, birthday’s, etc. Is anyone else feeling this?

    • Ok Melody. Why don’t we see how far we are along by July 21st. We can check ourselves then and perhaps give another week if we get a general consensus. For now though, lets stick to the June 31st deadline.


Leave a Reply

